Sewing machine

For our homes and gardens

Sewing machine

Postby Rodo » 31 Jul 2014, 11:16

I am thinking of treating myself to a new sewing machine. I have only had mine for 40 years!

Any recommendations, or warnings?
Rodo

Re: Sewing machine

Postby Diflower » 31 Jul 2014, 13:12

Mine is an earlier version of this one from Argos
http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/p ... 602576.htm

As I'm sure you know I'm no expert :D

It's fairly basic but does do quite a lot of stitches.
Loz got a new one, I can't find the thread now, I think it's a Singer.
Generally I feel the more electronic things are, the more there is to go wrong :D

Mine doesn't do automatic buttonholes, but I don't know how easy they are as I haven't done any :lol:
It can have several different feet (foots?!) and they're very easy to change.
I've found it ever so easy to use, and the instruction booklet is very good too.
Haven't made anything very clever, but have used it on really thick denim for instance (Minnie's toys) and it manages that fine.

If you have a local Singer shop though, I'd go there and talk to them. I didn't know when I got mine, there's one in the next town.
Diflower

Postby Rodo » 31 Jul 2014, 14:42

Lidl are doing a Singer on Thursday as a special offer. I tried to look it up but think it must be an obsolete model. It looks OK though.

I really only do straight household sewing or small repairs and alterations, so I don't need anything fancy. Sleeves are almost always too long for me so I nearly always have to shorten them. Mostly that is easy but sometimes it can be a bit tricky.

I will take your advice about the Singer shop I think. There used to be one in Preston, I will see if it's still there.
Rodo

Postby Diflower » 31 Jul 2014, 15:06

Lidl's Singer one looks a good basic model too, and it's a good price :)