You can tell the nights are drawing in....

For our homes and gardens

You can tell the nights are drawing in....

Postby debih » 30 Sep 2014, 09:56

My craft projects are starting up again.

I have got "the blanket" back out of retirement and actually done five squares. I really need to get on with this. I have been doing it now for at least 3 years and am only half way through it. I love knitting three quarters of the squares (striped ones and plain ones) but the others (the flowered ones) I detest. Far too many balls of wool on the go and I have to really concentrate on what I am doing. I am almost at the end of the middle strip of squares, which alternate with a striped square and a flower square and when I finish that I have a whole strip of just stripes and plain squares to do - I'll whiz through that one!

I've also started knitting for Christmas. I am doing little stockings that will be used as part of my table decoration to hold the cutlery. Thats the plan anyway. They look nice on the pictures I've seen on pinterest but if I finish the first one and it looks naff then I won't bother!

I'm also intending on making all my own cards this year. I bought some blank cards and envelopes from ebay and the girls and I are going to sit down and get started soon. They want to do finger painting on some (thumb prints made into reindeer) and I have seen some nice ones using embroidery thread - quite unusual.

And I am intending on making two santa sacks (four if I get time). A friend made them for all the members of her family and as her girls have got married, the new husbands also receives a santa sack! She is going to show me what she does at our next craft group. I bought two red and one white fleece blanket from Ikea (at £3 each I think they are probably cheaper than buying fabric) and will transform them into sacks!