Clinique -v- Simple....expensive -v- cheap

For all things fashion, beauty and hair care

Clinique -v- Simple....expensive -v- cheap

Postby Osc » 18 Sep 2016, 23:06

I've been using Clinique for many years, mainly due to various allergies, and have always been happy plus I have built up a nice relationship with the two girls on the Clinique counter in my nearest Boots. However, in recent years, the cost of my day and night creams has risen enormously, by €30-€35 euro, and every new skincare product they bring out costs more than the one it replaces.

Recently, I bought nightcream, or thought I had, only to find when I got home that she had given me day cream in error. I didn't have time to go back and change it, so bought a Simple night cream locally. Do you know what? My face has not fallen off, I have not broken out in weeping sores, in fact my skin looks much the same. So now I am wondering, will I continue with it, finish the day cream and then experiment with Simple day cream :? Have any of you "downgraded" without adverse effects on your skin?
Osc

Re: Clinique -v- Simple....expensive -v- cheap

Postby miasmum » 18 Sep 2016, 23:36

I used to use Boots No 7 serum Osc, but the price crept up and up. So I swapped to Boots Time Delay and was happy with that. Now though I use Aldi Lacura range. Cheap as chips and brilliant with it

I think skin care is really overpriced for the 'named' brands, bit like anything named in my opinion
miasmum

Postby Diflower » 19 Sep 2016, 10:37

I have some Simple stuff, it's fine - especially as it's in plastic, so light for packing - but tbh don't find it rich enough.
I do buy what I think is the best value though. I love facial oil, but after one purchase of a relatively expensive one found Boots Botanics, it's organic and I think it's lovely. Very ecomomical (as are the more expensive ones to be fair), as you only use a couple of drops.
And using that first, I then find my face cream goes further, which makes that better value.